Admission Procedure - M Tech (P. G.)

Admission Procedure for Post Graduate Admission Test for Engineering/Technology, Pharmacy and Architecture(PGAT)

Admission into M.Tech courses of the Biju Pattnaik University of Technology (BPUT), Rourkela, Orissa shall be based on criteria decided by the academic council of the University. There shall be provision for direct admission for a limited of NRI students. The University (BPUT) and the examination conducting authority Odisha Joint Entrance Examination shall adopt the eligibility criteria as specified by AICTE.

Odisha Joint Entrance Examination (OJEE) is an entrance examination for admission to a number of professional courses in engineering and etc in the professional colleges of Odisha.. The date of Odisha Joint Entrance Examination will be held on 14th May-2017 The online registration for OJEE-2017 please visit the website:

For M.Tech, the reservation is as given below :

a) 5% seats are reserved for NRI in Private Professional Colleges. No NRI seats are reserved for Government Colleges offering M.Tech.

b) If candidates are less than 5% in NRI in Private Professional Colleges, the balance seat will be transferred to the general seat and allotment will be done as per general merit.

c) After deducting the NRI seats 50% of the remaining seats will be allocated to All India Post Graduate Aptitude Tests (GATE & GPAT) and remaining 50% to PGAT candidates.

d) If candidates are less than 50% in GATE/GPAT score, the balance seat wills be transferred to the PGAT and allotment will be done as per general merit.

e) All the candidates claiming seat under GATE/GPAT should produce Valid GATE/GPAT score card in original during counselling process.

For M.Tech streams, the candidates belonging to categories SC/ST can also compete under general category provided they satisfy all conditions of eligibility for the same.

Scheduled Caste 8% & Scheduled Tribe 12%

There is no age limit to for admission to M.Tech (Regular) course.

For more information regarding admission through Orissa JEE please visit : or

Eligibility For M. Tech. Courses (Regular)

Passed or appearing in 2017, Bachelor's Degree of examination in the relevant field from any University of Odisha or from an AICTE approved Institute or from a recognized University as defined by UGC. The candidate should have obtained at least 50% marks (45% in case of candidate belonging to SC/ST category) at the qualifying examination.

Choice of Specialisation: Candidates having Bachelor in Engineering in the discipline indicated in Column-I are eligible to be admitted to their corresponding discipline only mentioned in Column-II of Table-XIV of information brochure of OJEE-2017 based on merit list.

The intake strength of PG Courses approved by AICTE for GIET, BBSR is as follows*

Intake capacity Percentage of Reservation
Orissa JEE 45
NRI 05
Sl.No Branch/Stream Number of seates
1 Mechanical System Design 018
2 Structural Engineering 018
3 Communication Systems Engineering 018
4 Power Electronics & Drives 018


  • The entire academic fee for an academic year (i.e. two semesters) is payable at the beginning of the academic year.
  • The Fee should be paid through a/c payee demand draft only in favour of the Institute.
  • The fee is according to the guidelines prescribed by the Government of Orissa.
  • The fee is according to the guidelines prescribed by the Government of Orissa and as fixed by Fee Structure Committee.
Sl.No Photos Name Designation Area of Operation Contact Number
1 Anil Kumar Nayak Sr. Manager-Admission +91-9937120728
2 Adarsha Ranjan Panigrahi Manager (Admission & Brand Promotion) East/ West & North Odisha +91-9937046780
3 Mohan Kumar Gajendra Admission Officer Puri / Khorda / Nayagada +91-9437060759
4 Rajaram Suvendu Bikash Admission Officer Mayurbhanj / Baripada +91-9437138659
5 Akshya Kumar Jena Admission Officer Keonjhar +91-7894428417
6 Khageswar Sahoo Admission Officer Jajpur +91-9437056759
7 Pradeep Kumar Panda Admission Officer Raygada/Ganjam +91-9937863196
8 Sudhir Kumar Patra Admission Officer Sundargarh / Rourkela +91-9937017534
9 Prakash Chandra Jalli Admission Officer Samalpur / Jharsuguda / Baragarh / Deogarh +91-9437054759
10 Sambhu Prasad Bala Admission Officer Bolangir / Sonepur / Kalahandi +91-9437170759
11 Ajaya Kumar Pradhan Admission Officer Angul/Dhenkanal/Talcher +91-9437087459
12 Jayprakash Mishra Admission Officer Bhubaneswar +91-9938293169
13 Mr.Sibabrata Panda Admission Officer Koraput/Malkanagiri/Nabarangpur +91-9437130759
Admission officers for outside Odisha
1 Shiba Prasad Moharana Manager (Admission & Brand Promotion) Bihar/Jharkhand +91-9437117259
2 Amit Kumar Admission Officer Dhanbad / Jharkhand +91-9437485759
3 Prashant Kumar Sinha Admission Officer Ranchi +91-74799 81914
4 Vinod Kumar Admission Officer Bokaro/Hazaribag +91-7255029598
5 Rohit Kumar Admission Officer Ramgarh/Katrash +91-9431522503
6 MD Azad Admission Officer Palamu +91-73228 36547
7 Jibitesh Kumar Panda Admission Officer Agartala +91-8414894280/+91-9437512117

For general Enquiry mail us at